Updated Oct 29, 2026· 5 min read

Shopping for the best 1440p gaming laptops is harder than it looks, because retailers use QHD, 2.5K, 2K and QHD+ almost interchangeably. True 1440p means 2560×1440. Many 16-inch laptops instead use 2560×1600 (16:10), which is a different, slightly taller panel. This guide sorts six laptops honestly: three whose spec field says QHD or 2560×1440, and three near-fits that we label as such. Our picks come from published specifications and reviewer feedback, not hands-on testing. Prices are approximate, were not live-checked, and laptop prices change quickly, so confirm the current listing before you buy.

How We Picked: What to Check on a QHD Gaming Laptop

We called a laptop a 1440p match only where its display field says QHD or 2560×1440. Where a listing says only “2K” or “QHD+” without a pixel count, or lists 2560×1600, we flag it as a near-fit. Beyond the label, check the refresh rate, the GPU and its power limit, RAM, storage and the exact model number, since one name often covers several configurations at different prices. A sharper panel asks more of the GPU than a 1080p one, so compare the games you play with their published requirements. We make no frame-rate claims, because the data behind this list does not include benchmarks.

1. MSI Katana 15 HX B14WFK (Core i7-14650HX, RTX 5060)

This is a clear 1440p match: a 15.6-inch 2560×1440 (QHD) screen at 165Hz with 100% DCI-P3 color. It pairs the Core i7-14650HX with an RTX 5060 (8GB), 16GB of RAM and a 1TB SSD, and it has a 75Wh battery and weighs about 5.29 lb. Prices vary widely: a July 2026 sale reached about $1,134, while list prices of $1,499.99 to $1,799 were reported.

Pros: a QHD 165Hz panel with wide color, and a reviewer measured about 6 hours of light use. Cons: a hard plastic build, a screen Tom’s Guide found not very bright, and poor value at list price. Best for: a shopper who wants a true QHD screen and will wait for a sale.

Check price on Amazon

2. MSI Katana 15 HX B14WGK (Core i7-14650HX, RTX 5070)

The step-up Katana also lists a 15.6-inch 2560×1440 IPS screen at 165Hz with 100% DCI-P3 (an FHD 144Hz option exists, so check the exact SKU). It uses an RTX 5070 (8GB GDDR7), 16 to 32GB of RAM and a 1TB SSD, with a 75Wh battery. Sources disagree on price: roughly $1,099 to $1,299 at Walmart for the 16GB model, and $1,799 for 32GB. One i9 variant is listed separately.

Pros: an RTX 5070 with a QHD panel near $1,100 to $1,300, and RAM that can be upgraded to 96GB per the listing. Cons: a 14th Gen CPU platform, and a limited-stock note on the $1,799 deal. Weight was not confirmed. Best for: buyers who want more GPU than the RTX 5060 Katana and can verify the config.

Check price on Amazon

3. ASUS TUF Gaming A16 FA617XT-CS94 (Ryzen 9 7940HS, RX 7700S)

This 16-inch TUF lists a QHD panel at 240Hz, a Ryzen 9 7940HS, a Radeon RX 7700S, 16GB of DDR5 and a 1TB SSD. The only price we found is a buyer-reported $1,199, with no date, so treat it cautiously. Battery, weight and MUX switch support were not confirmed for this SKU.

Pros: a QHD 240Hz screen and a Ryzen 9 CPU. Cons: an unverified price, uncertain availability, and the same RX 7700S GPU that appears in a cheaper Ryzen 7 model. Best for: someone who prefers an AMD graphics card and a high refresh rate. Note that its exact pixel count was not stated, so confirm it is 2560×1440 rather than 2560×1600.

Check price on Amazon

4. Alienware 16 Aurora (Core 7 240H, RTX 5050) – Near-Fit

Dell lists this 16-inch laptop with a “QHD+” display, which usually means a taller panel than 2560×1440, but the exact resolution and refresh rate were not stated. It has an RTX 5050 (8GB GDDR7), 16GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD and a 96Wh battery. Dell showed $1,599.99 for the base config, $1,799.99 for 1TB, and a separate page “starting at $1,499.99”.

Pros: a large battery and a current-generation GPU. Cons: a high price for an RTX 5050 and only 512GB of storage. Weight was not reliably stated. Best for: someone who values Alienware design and battery capacity over GPU power.

Check price on Amazon

5. Dell G15 5530 (Core i7, RTX 4060) – Near-Fit

A Best Buy clearance listing describes a 15.6-inch “2K” panel but gives no exact resolution or refresh rate. It has an RTX 4060 (140W TDP per Notebookcheck), 16GB of RAM and a 1TB SSD, at about $978 (clearance, seen 29 October 2026). Notebookcheck’s figures of an 86Wh battery and 6.55 lb come from a different panel configuration, so they may not match this SKU. Ports include HDMI, DisplayPort and Gigabit LAN.

Pros: under $1,000 with a strong-power RTX 4060. Cons: a last-generation 2023 model, bulky and heavy, and clearance stock can vanish. Best for: bargain hunters who confirm the panel before paying.

Check price on Amazon

6. ASUS TUF Gaming A14 FA401KM (Ryzen AI 7 350, RTX 5060) – Near-Fit

This 14-inch TUF has a 2.5K WQXGA (2560×1600) screen at 165Hz, so it is sharper than 1440p rather than a match. The HIDevolution config on Newegg has 16GB of RAM and a 1TB SSD, at $1,549 (reduced from $1,749). Battery, weight and ports were not found.

Pros: a compact 14-inch body with an RTX 5060. Cons: a third-party reseller configuration and pricing we consider less authoritative. Best for: players who want a portable laptop with a sharp, high-refresh screen.

Check price on Amazon

FAQ

Is 1440p the same as QHD and 2K?

QHD and 1440p both mean 2560×1440. “2K” is a loose marketing term, and “2.5K” or “QHD+” often means 2560×1600. Always check the pixel count on the spec sheet.

Is a 1440p gaming laptop worth it over 1080p?

It gives a sharper image on a 15 to 16-inch screen but asks more of the GPU, and it usually costs more. If you play fast competitive games, check the refresh rate as well as the resolution.

Which GPU should I look for in a QHD gaming laptop?

Our data does not include benchmarks, so we cannot rank GPUs by performance. In general, a higher tier with more VRAM gives more headroom, and you should compare your games’ published requirements.

Are these prices current?

No. They are approximate, come from mixed dates, and were not live-checked. Verify the exact model number and price before buying.

P
Picment
We compare specs, materials and verified owner reviews before a product earns a spot. Rankings are never paid.

FAQ

Is 1440p the same as QHD and 2K?
QHD and 1440p both mean 2560×1440. “2K” is a loose marketing term, and “2.5K” or “QHD+” often means 2560×1600. Always check the pixel count on the spec sheet.
Is a 1440p gaming laptop worth it over 1080p?
It gives a sharper image on a 15 to 16-inch screen but asks more of the GPU, and it usually costs more. If you play fast competitive games, check the refresh rate as well as the resolution.
Which GPU should I look for in a QHD gaming laptop?
Our data does not include benchmarks, so we cannot rank GPUs by performance. In general, a higher tier with more VRAM gives more headroom, and you should compare your games’ published requirements.
Are these prices current?
No. They are approximate, come from mixed dates, and were not live-checked. Verify the exact model number and price before buying.
Affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Prices accurate as of the date shown.
Best 1440p Gaming Laptops: 3 QHD Matches and…Check price on Amazon